Introduction – About Me & My Beliefs

(Briefly) About Me

I am 32 years old, a mother of three and a 1st year medical student.  I also have a nursing degree and a biomedical science degree.

My Beliefs

I believe that a new human life is formed at the moment of conception.  I believe that this life deserves respect, and that the taking of this life is equivalent to taking the life of any born human.

My beliefs are based upon medical, scientific and philosophical foundations.

I believe that unless the physiologically inevitable outcome of a pregnancy is the death of both the mother and the unborn child before the child can viably survive birth, elective abortion should be prohibited.

Why the Blog?

I created this blog as a place to rationally express my beliefs, and in the hope that I might alternatively encourage those with similar beliefs and influence others to consider carefully what they believe about abortion – and perhaps change some minds.

Ultimately I hope for the most important outcome of all; that lives might be saved.

Author: Elizabeth

I am in my mid thirties, a medical student and mother to four amazing little girls. My first venture into pro-life writing was when I wrote an essay on abortion in high school, but I didn't become passionate about protecting the unborn until after I had my first daughter in 2010. I hope my writing will help those who have questions about abortion, and help to build understanding of the arguments surrounding abortion.

2 thoughts on “Introduction – About Me & My Beliefs”

  1. believe that a new human life is formed at the moment of conception.

    Well that is fascinating because in terms of medical science, we cannot (at the moment) determine when a new human life is formed.

    “Biology provides no clear defining event to answer this question because diploid human individuality arises gradually during the mitotic phase of our life cycle and not at fertilization.” – (Source).

    So, as a first year medical student do you intend to base your ideas on fact, or what you believe? I’m guessing your patients would prefer fact over the the warm and fuzzy attempts to justify a belief system that does not concur with reality.

    I believe that this life deserves respect, and that the taking of this life is equivalent to taking the life of any born human.

    Fascinating. I await to see your position on women being people as opposed to state legislated forced birthing incubators.

    My beliefs are based upon medical, scientific and philosophical foundations.

    I notice you omit “fact” from your list. Noted.

    1. Thank you for your comment. If you’re truly interested to see my responses to the points you have made, please keep reading my blog, as they are likely to be covered sooner or later, and in a way in which I cannot do justice to in either a comment reply or an introductory blog post.

Comments are closed.